Now in My Bookbag: 1984 – Against All Odds, by Rebecca Yarros

1984 - Against all oddsI am disappointed in this. It is amazingly similar to another rock star romance that I read, and so I am extremely frustrated. The beginning of Against All Odds is different, but soon catches up with the plot of others like it. The woman, herself a former country/pop singer, has her own reasons to step away from the spotlight. The rock star life style is hard on relationships, but he wants to find a way to make it work.

Author Rebecca Yarros keeps a fast past throughout. Her wording is articulate, and her grammar remains solid from beginning to end. Yarros does a nice job structuring the story. The writing is good, despite the similarities to other stories. I am happy that this rock star romance is not as hard-core as others I have read.

The end of the story is pleasing, as I am a big fan of HEA books. I just wish that this book wasn’t eerily similar to the books I already read. However, as a stand alone, Against All Odds is an okay read. It is fast paced, and incorporates all of the elements of the basic new adult format.   2 1/4 stars

About KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox
This entry was posted in Books, collection, indie, Novella, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

