Melissa Haag… Being an Author: Breaking the Myth

MelissaIf you write a book, people will read it. I mean, that’s the point of writing a book, right? Readers
will read it, tell other readers about it, and an author can sit back and enjoy the money and fame their
writing will bring. Yeah, not so much.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~∞~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Now, don’t get me wrong. I love being an author. I love dreaming up the worlds I write about. The characters come alive in my mind and on paper. That I can share it with readers is cool. But, it’s not an easy or glamorous job (yep, I used the J word!).
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~∞~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There are no housemaids to do my laundry or cooks to make meals so I can keep writing. I still have everyday life responsibilities like washing dishes and paying bills. People don’t shout my name when I go into public places.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Being an author doesn’t mean wide spread fame or fortune. Being an author is a job like any other. It requires time and dedication to do well. It means sleepless nights worrying about deadlines and audience satisfaction. It means investing a ton of hours (and pieces of my soul) into each book I write. It means opening myself to public criticism for each word I’ve typed.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No, being an author isn’t easy. Then again, most jobs worth doing aren’t.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~♥~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox
This entry was posted in Authors, My Bookbag and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melissa Haag… Being an Author: Breaking the Myth

  1. mkmacinnes says:

    As long as I think of it as a journey or a process (aren’t most writers self-therapists?), I can never be disappointed with the outcome. And as long as I can earn enough money to keep a roof over my head, food in my mouth and still have free time to satisfy my creative impulses, it really doesn’t matter a jot that it’s not making me any money. That will probably come one day when I’m not forcing it. In the meantime, I just enjoy the ride. I can only speak for myself but suspect that this will be the case for many other writers …

    Like

Leave a Reply

