Fairy Tale Confessions Author Amy Daws Interview

There are 14 authors who wrote the stories of the Fairy Tale Confessions collection.  This post will focus on Amy Daws, author of Rell. 

__________________________________________________________________
Amy Daws is a contemporary romance author who loved dipping her toe into the world of fantasy for this modern day Cinderella story.
If you loved her contemporary style, check out her award-nominated adult romantic comedy series, The London Lovers Series. It’s emotional, and self-deprecating, with lots of humor sprinkled in. For deals on Amy’s books, visit: http://www.amydawsauthor.com
__________________________________________________________________

 Amy, thanks for taking the time to answer some questions for us…

Q: Why do you think you are so drawn to “all things British”?

I fell in love with British Chick Lit in my early 20s. For me, I love reading contemporary romance and reading something set overseas in the UK added another level of fantasy to the story. And since there’s no language barrier, it’s still super relatable. Plus…hello? Hot men with British accents, yes please!!!

Q: Your normal genre is more contemporary college/new adult. What made you decide to participate in a fairy tale anthology?

Sarah J. Pepper. It’s all her bloody fault! J Actually, Sarah and I had just finished doing our contemporary collaboration novel about a broken ballerina and an Ivy league frat boy. She invited me into the collection and I figured it’d be a great way to push me outside my comfort zone!

Q: How much fun was it to create a twisted fairy tale?

Really fun! I approached mine from a different angle in the sense that I wanted to make my story super modern and current. I wasn’t worried about adding vampires or paranormal elements into mine to twist it up. My twists came more from finding a way to make the insta-love you read about in the classic Cinderella story and make it believable in a modern world.

Q: Is there a character from one of your stories that has surprised you in some way?

Frank. Always Frank.

Q: Where (or when) do you get the most story inspiration?

Funnily enough…the shower. I have no clue why. I don’t listen to music in there or anything. Perhaps it’s just the least distracting place in my house?

Q: What are you working on currently?

I’m currently working on a novel called, Not The One. It has been the most intimidating book I’ve ever written. The character, Reyna is dark and dealing with a lot of things in her life that just scare me. The relationships she has with two men scare me. What’s going to happen in the end scares me. I never know my endings and I’m so nervous for her!!! It’s so odd but these stories really do write themselves. But the fear is what’s inspiring me and driving me to finish! It’s technically book 4 in my London Lovers Series but I’m releasing it as a total standalone. There will be London Lovers characters in it, but it’s more of a cross pollinated book.

Q: Do you see yourself participating in more anthologies?

For sure! It’s a great way to find more readers and push yourself outside your comfort zone.

Q: What does your writing process look like?

I’m either writing or I’m not. I can’t just write a little every day. A story consumes me until I finish so I’m usually up writing until 3am every day until I finish. And no timeline but lots of crazy notes jotted all over the place. Oh…and string cheese. I love eating string cheese while I write. That seems important to note.

Q: How important are the character names you choose? How do you choose them?

Not that important. I don’t typically put a lot of thought into them. I just sorta look at a few and think…sure! He sounds like a Frank! J

Q: What are your 10 favorite books and why?

Get read for lots o British! Oh and Scottish…I’m a shameless Samantha Young fangirl!!! These could change on any given day but off the top of my head…here’s the list!

I probably love them all for different reasons. I’m a huge Samantha Young fan because she gives me the perfect mix of sex and storyline and depth. Elizabeth Young is the BEST at self deprecating heroines! Gah! She’s amazing! Ugly Love by CoHo is just so rich and heartfelt. Beneath These Scars by March is just a new one I read that is still sticking with me! It just had everything for me! And then of course I have to pick Fifty Shades because I seriously love the story. Fan fiction nonsense aside, EL James created Christian Grey, a deeply troubled guy who had a terrible upbringing. It’s totally a story of rooting for the underdog! And I still love all the Twilight books! I’m a Twihard!!!

  1. Before Jamaica Lane by Samantha Young
  2. On Dublin Street by Samantha Young
  3. Moonlight on Nightingale Way by Samantha Young
  4. Asking for Trouble by Elizabeth Young
  5. A Girls Best Friend by Elizabeth Young
  6. Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes
  7. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
  8. Beneath These Scars by Meghan March
  9. Fifty Shades
  10. Breaking Dawn 

Follow Links for Amy Daws

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox
This entry was posted in Book Releases, Books, My Bookbag, Q&A and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

