Fairy Tale Confessions Author L.P. Dover Interview

There are 14 authors who wrote the stories of the Fairy Tale Confessions collection.  This post will focus on L.P. Dover, author of Caged. 

__________________________________________________________________

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author, L.P. Dover, is a southern belle residing in North Carolina along with her husband and two beautiful girls. Before she even began her literary journey she worked in Periodontics enjoying the wonderment of dental surgeries.

Not only does she love to write, but she loves to play tennis, go on mountain hikes, white water rafting, and you can’t forget the passion for singing. Her two number one fans expect a concert each and every night before bedtime and those songs usually consist of Christmas carols.

Aside from being a wife and mother, L.P. Dover has written over fifteen novels including her Forever Fae series, the Second Chances series, the Gloves Off series, and her standalone novel, Love, Lies, and Deception. Her favorite genre to read is romantic suspense and she also loves writing it. However, if she had to choose a setting to live in it would have to be with her faeries in the Land of the Fae. L.P. Dover is represented by Marisa Corvisiero of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

__________________________________________________________________

 Leslie, thanks for taking the time to answer some questions for us…

Q: You are a well published author. Do you feel a lot of pressure to produce more and more popular books?

Not really. I know readers always ask for more, but I’ve never had the overwhelming pressure. I write pretty fast so usually I can keep people happy. Or at least I try to . . . lol.

Q: Did you find it difficult to ‘twist’ a well-known fairy tale?

It took a little thinking, but Rapunzel is one of my favorite stories. I was excited to try twisting it into something totally different.

Q: You write about a wide variety of topics in both the contemporary and the paranormal? Do you have a preference in topic, contemporary or paranormal?

This is a hard question. I’m comfortable in both genres. But I might have to say my preference is sports romance. I love my MMA fighters and football players.

Q: Is there a character from one of your stories that has surprised you in some way?

YES, Kyle Andrews. He appeared in several of my MMA books and talk about a complete dirt bag. He was the one character I thought would be unredeemable. However, there was something about him I couldn’t let go. He needed to pay for all the bad things he did, and believe me, he paid. It was great seeing him turn his life around. I grew to love him in the end.

Q: In what do you find the most inspiration?

Everything really. Sometimes a dreary, fall morning gives me the inspiration I need. It’s so weird because just the simplest of things give me ideas for scenes.

Q: What are you working on currently?

I just finished Roped In which is the second book in my Armed & Dangerous series. Always after I finish a book I like to take a few days off. It turns out that isn’t the case . . . lol. I’m working on a secret project with my good friend and fellow author, Heidi McLaughlin. I can’t wait to tell everyone about it.

Q: You seem to enjoy participating in anthologies and/or bundles with other authors. Do you see yourself participating in more of these collaborations?

Oh yes, of course. It’s a wonderful way to cross promote and reach new readers.

Q: What does your writing process look like? Does it change depending on your topics?

My writing process changes with each book. Sometimes I can just go with the flow and type away. But with some I have to write out a detailed outline and go from there.

Q: How important are the character names you choose? How do you choose them?

Naming your characters is like naming your children. Once you hit publish, it’s their names for life. Usually I Google baby names and go from there. When one name sticks out at me I use it.

Q: What are your 10 favorite books and why?

Picking my favorite books is going to be hard since I have sooooo many that I love. How about I name my top ten favorite authors? I love all of their books. You will notice that most of them write paranormal. It’s my favorite genre to read so I will always gravitate towards those types of books.

  1. Jeaniene Frost
  2. Terry Spear
  3. Sylvia Day
  4. Richelle Mead
  5. Laurell K. Hamilton
  6. R. Ward
  7. Lara Adrian
  8. Quinn Loftis
  9. Heidi McLaughlin
  10. Shelly Crane

Follow Links for L.P. Dover

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox
This entry was posted in Book Releases, Books, My Bookbag, Q&A and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

