Fairy Tale Confessions Author Sarah J. Pepper Interview

There are 14 authors who wrote the stories of the Fairy Tale Confessions collection.  This post will focus on Sarah J. Peppers, author of Priceless. 

__________________________________________________________________
Sarah J. Pepper specializes in dark, paranormal romance – think “happy ever after” but with a twisted, dark chocolate center. Real-life romance isn’t only filled with hugs, kisses, bunnies, and rainbows. True-love can be more thoroughly described in times of darkness and tribulation. It’s in those harsh moments where you see what a person is truly capable of – both the good and bad. Sometimes prince-charming isn’t always on time, and the glass slipper is a little snug. However, it doesn’t mean Charming is not Mr. Right, and who says every shoe is the perfect fit? Get a glimpse inside her head at http://www.sarahjpepper.com
__________________________________________________________________

Sarah, thanks for taking the time to answer some questions for us…

Q: Why do you think you are so drawn to twisted fairy tales?

A: Ever since I was a little girl…. Oh man, that sounds cliché, but glah! It’s the truth. Okay, I’ll finish this thought, ever since I was a little girl, I’d always make up alternate endings/twists to my favorite Disney movies. So I really have been twisting fairy tales up as long as I can remember…they are just a little darker now.

Q: Your fondness for the paranormal, and plot twists, seems to be a great fit for the Fairy Tale Confessions anthology. How much did you enjoy this collaboration?

A: I LOVED this collaboration process. I was so giddy when these authors were excited to do the fairy tale stories with Tish and I. It was a dream come true.

Q: You have written about Fairies and the Fates. How much mythology infuses your work?

A: I keep quite a bit true to elemental factors with all my stories. Its one of my secrets in writing fairy tales – keep the old with the new flare.

Q: Pointe of Breaking is a departure from your normal genre. What inspired you to write this particular story? Do you have plans to write more contemporary stories?

A: Oh man this was an interesting twist with my usual writing. The premise for this story actually stemmed from the “Take Me to Church” ballet video. I fell in LOVE with it. So one night, I’m chatting it up with Daws and thought it was a brilliant idea. I wrote the first chapter; she wrote the next, and the rest is history. Although, I will admit, it was nice getting back into the magical world of fairy tales.

Q: Is there a character from one of your stories that has surprised you in some way?

A: Lol, only all of them!! When I write, I focus more on character development rather than where the hell the story is going. I like to keep my stories believable and characters true to form. The story will come. Every person (imaginary or otherwise) has a story to tell. You just have to shut up and listen

Q: Where (or when) do you get the most story inspiration?

A: Music. I must have music to write—if nothing else, it drowns out my world and lets me close my eyes and believe I’m really a part of the story.

Q: What are you working on currently?

A: Ummmmm, well I have readers coming at me with pitchforks if I don’t finish the Fate Trilogy soon…. BUT I am getting a photoshoot put together for a Tinkerbell spinoff I’m doing “Neverland Evermore.”

Q: Do you see yourself participating in more anthologies?

A: If my author friends will have me!

Q: What does your writing process look like?

A: A hot mess. One.Hot.Mess of Words…

Q: How important are the character names you choose? How do you choose them?

A: OMG I HATE HATE HATE choosing names. I usually let my fans decide. I’ll make a post on FB or Twitter or anywhere and post something like “I need a geeky rocker name who doesn’t look like Superman when he removes his glasses….but also doesn’t look like any of the characters off of the Big Bang Theory. Go!”

Q: What are your 10 favorite books and why?

A: 10!?!?! Oh jeez…. Well, can I just say the entire Anita Blake series lol. Okay. I am a BIG fan of the Tale of Two Cities, (LOVE the foreshadowing and use it often with my writing. Five People you Meet in Heaven moved me in ways that makes me know that magic happens outside of a book too…How to kill a Mockingbird….or is it Mockingjay? I’m a big fan of the Hunger Games J My writing style was significantly changed after reading Becca Fitzgerald’s Hush Hush series but none of my writing would have ever happened without Twilight and the snow storm of 2009…. Even so, my love for the written word started with the Bernstein Bears, American Girl, and of course EVERYTHING DISNEY.

Thanks for having me today. I wouldn’t be anywhere in my career without my devoted fans. Thank you for your never-ending encouragement!!

________________________________________________________________________________________

Follow links for Sarah J. Pepper

_________________________________________________________________________________________
About KarenM

Advocate for animal rights, individual rights, and medical issues such as #Lyme disease, #cancer and #diabetes. Reader Reviews and News I also write about television, music, holidays and anything else that grabs me while I'm on my soapbox
This entry was posted in Book Releases, Books, My Bookbag and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

